2017 Angus - Champion of the World - EF Colossal 520                         2017 Angus - Miss World - Red Ter-Ron Diamond Mist 26C                        


South Africa

Population: 51 770 560
Cattle Population: 13 800 000
Capital City: Pretoria
Official Languages: Afrikaans, English, Southern Ndebele
Northern Sotho, Southern Sotho, Swazi, Tsonga, Tswana, Venda, Xhosa, Zulu

Angus Breeders: 177
Registered Angus Cattle: 80 000

SA National Angus Sale
4 August 2018

Angus Society of South Africa

118 Henry Street , Westdene , Bloemfontein, 9301
P.O Box 6759 , Bloemfontein, 9300
Tel: (+27) 51 - 447 9849
Fax: (+27) 51 - 447 2378

Email: info@angus.org.za

Member of the World Angus Secretariat

2017 National Champion Red Angus Bull

Loumotta John Deere AC 13871


2017 National Champion Black Angus Bull

De Panne DE 15-13 International No 1


2016 Moorreesburg Champion Red Angus Bull

Lusan Label LB 110014

Silver Medal: "Angus - Champion of Asia/Africa 2016"


2017 National Champion Red Angus Female

Roechama Sure RMC 130018


2017 National Champion Black Angus Female

Milagro Power ACM13024


2016 Champion Black Angus Female

Black Mamba Nelene

Gold Medal: "Angus - Miss Asia/Africa 2016"

Bronze Medal: "Angus - Miss World 2016"



Local time
  Local Time:
08:41 AM on Wednesday 15th of August, 2018 (GMT+02:00)

Pretoria (capital) weather forecast
Wednesday 15th of August, 2018

Max: 28 'C

Min: 12 'C
Wind: 18 Km/h NNW
Thursday 16th of August, 2018

Max: 28 'C

Min: 13 'C
Wind: 18 Km/h NNW
Friday 17th of August, 2018

Max: 29 'C

Min: 11 'C
Wind: 24 Km/h NW

South Africa, officially the Republic of South Africa, is the southernmost sovereign state in Africa. It is bounded on the south by 2,798 kilometers of coastline of Southern Africa stretching along the South Atlantic and Indian Oceans,[9][10][11] on the north by the neighbouring countries of NamibiaBotswana and Zimbabwe, and on the east and northeast by Mozambique and Swaziland, and surrounding the kingdom of Lesotho.[12] South Africa is the 25th-largest country in the world by land area, and with close to 53 million people, is the world's 24th-most populous nation. It is the southernmost country on the mainland of the Old World or the Eastern Hemisphere. It is the only country that borders both the Atlantic Ocean and the Indian Ocean[13]

South Africa is a multiethnic society encompassing a wide variety of cultures, languages, and religions. Its pluralistic makeup is reflected in the constitution's recognition of 11 official languages, which is among the highest number of any country in the world.[11]Two of these languages are of European origin: Afrikaans developed from Dutch and serves as the first language of most white and coloured South Africans; English reflects the legacy of British colonialism, and is commonly used in public and commercial life, though it is fourth-ranked as a spoken first language.[11]

The country is one of the few in Africa never to have had a coup d'état, and regular elections have been held for almost a century. However, the vast majority of black South Africans were not enfranchised until 1994. During the 20th century, the black majority sought to recover its rights from the dominant white minority, with this struggle playing a large role in the country's recent history and politics. The National Party imposed apartheid in 1948, institutionalizing previous racial segregation. After a long and sometimes violent struggle by the African National Congress and other anti-apartheid activists both inside and outside the country, discriminatory laws began to be repealed or abolished from 1990 onwards.

About 80 percent of South Africans are of Sub-Saharan African ancestry,[5] divided among a variety of ethnic groups speaking different Bantu languages, nine of which have official status.[11] The remaining population consists of Africa's largest communities of European (white), Asian (Indian), and multiracial (coloured) ancestry. Since 1994, all ethnic and linguistic groups have had political representation in the country's democracy, which comprises a parliamentary republic and nine provinces. South Africa is often referred to as the "Rainbow Nation" to describe the country's newly developing multicultural diversity in the wake of segregationist apartheid ideology.[14]

Until late 2015, the World Bank classified South Africa as an upper-middle-income economy. South Africa today is a developed country and a newly industrialized country.[15][16] Its economy is the second-largest in Africa, and the 34th-largest in the world.[6] In terms of purchasing power parity, South Africa has the seventh-highest per capita income in Africa. However, poverty and inequality remain widespread, with about a quarter of the population unemployed and living on less than US$1.25 a day.[17][18] Nevertheless, South Africa has been identified as a middle power in international affairs, and maintains significant regional influence.[19][20]